Edgbaston and Old Trafford to host Ashes Tests in 2019

Edgbaston will host one of the Test matches during the 2019 Ashes series

Edgbaston will host one of the Test matches during the 2019 Ashes series

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced that Edgbaston and Old Trafford will both host one Test match during the 2019 Ashes series against Australia.

Both grounds, which have recently been renovated, have also been recommended to host a World Cup semi-final in 2019.

However, even though Trent Bridge in Nottingham failed to be included in the venues list for the 2019 Ashes series, the ground will still host a Test match against South Africa in 2017, a Test match against India in 2018, five World Cup matches and the 2019 Twenty20 Finals Day.

After undergoing a £10 million upgrade, Bristol will host an ODI in 2017, 2018, 2019 and four World Cup matches as well.

Taunton, which is located in Somerset, will hold its first international match since 1999 when England play a Twenty20 match against South Africa in 2017. The ground will also host three World Cup matches.

“The board commissioned international consulting firm Deloitte to examine very carefully the financial condition of all our major match venues,” ECB chairman Giles Clarke said. “A significant amount of work was carried out with the ECB executive and the first class counties to ensure that these awards are made on a new financial basis which involves the share of risk between the ECB and the grounds. It means that grounds are incentivised to sell out while providing the best possible spectator experience.

“These awards have been made with the confidence that at the end of this period our venues will be in a much strengthened financial position which will be of real benefit to the game in England and Wales as it will significantly allow substantial debt repayments.”


Venues for England matches


2017 vs West Indies

Tests: Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord’s

ODIs: Bristol, Old Trafford, The Oval, Ageas Bowl, Trent Bridge

T20: Chester-le-Street


2017 vs South Africa

Tests: Lord’s, Old Trafford, The Oval, Trent Bridge

ODIs: Chester-le-Street, Headingley, Lord’s

T20: Cardiff, Ageas Bowl, Taunton


2017 Champions Trophy

The Oval, Edgbaston, Cardiff


2017 T20 Finals Day



2018 vs Pakistan

Tests: Headingley, Lord’s


2018 vs Australia

ODIs: Cardiff, Chester-le-Street, Old Trafford, The Oval, Trent Bridge

T20: Edgbaston


2018 vs India

Tests: Edgbaston, Lord’s, The Oval, Ageas Bowl, Trent Bridge

ODIs: Bristol, Headingley, Lord’s, Old Trafford, Trent Bridge

T20: Cardiff


2018 T20 Finals Day



2019 vs Pakistan

ODIs: Bristol, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, The Oval, Ageas Bowl

T20: Cardiff


2019 vs Australia

Tests: Edgbaston, Headingley, Lord’s, Old Trafford, The Oval


2019 World Cup

All subject to ICC approval

Final: Lord’s

Semi-finals: Edgbaston, Old Trafford

Opening match: The Oval

Other hosts: Durham, Headingley, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Bristol, Ageas Bowl


England v Winners ICC Test Challenge



2019 T20 Finals Day

Trent Bridge

Leave a Reply