Dhoni and Raina to launch new cricket league

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Numerous countries have already shown an interest in the league

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and batsman Suresh Raina are set to launch a new seven-a-side cricket league in Dubai this week.

According to the Times of India, the 7 Premier League (7PL) is being financed by a wealthy United Arab Emirates-based conglomerate and will feature seven teams, which are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah and Umm al-Qaiwain.

Each match will be seven overs a side and, according to the newspaper, India, Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have already shown an interest in the league.

Leave a Reply