ECB confirm dates for home series against India

Image courtesy of: The Guardian

“We anticipate significant demand for tickets”

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have confirmed the dates for the national team’s home series against India next June.

India’s tour of England, which will run from June 23 to September 8, will consist of five Test matches for the first time since 1959, five ODIs and a one-off Twenty20 International.


However, the five Tests will be crammed into a space of 42 days as the series is set to begin on July 9 and end on August 19.

India will start off their tour with two three-day warm-up matches against Derbyshire and Leicestershire before moving on to the Test series.

The first Test is scheduled to be held at Trent Bridge, while Lord’s will play host to the second Test.

The ECB have named the Ageas Bowl in Southampton as the location for the third Test, but according to reports, the venue will need to pass a final facility inspection before being confirmed.

The final two Tests will be played at Old Trafford and The Oval.

The ECB also announced that the five ODIs will be held in Bristol, Cardiff, Trent Bridge, Headingley and Edgbaston.

India will also play a 50-over match against Middlesex during the transition break between the Test series and ODI series.

Birmingham will host the one-off Twenty20 International on September 7.

ECB chief executive David Collier stated that he expects the demand for tickets to go through the roof.

“We anticipate significant demand for tickets both for the Investec Test series, and for the One-Day International series which will be the first encounter between these two countries in the 50-Over format since India’s triumph in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy competition at Edgbaston earlier this year,” he said.

India last toured England in 2011, where they were whitewashed 4-0 in the Test series, which helped England claim the top spot on the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test team rankings, and they were also defeated 3-0 in the ODI series.

Leave a Reply