A BATTING WITH BIMAL BREAKING REPORT: Virat Kohli only Indian player in ICC World Twenty20 Team of the Year

Kohli is the lone Indian player in the squad

India batting sensation Virat Kohli was the only Indian player to be selected in the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Team of the Year.

The team also includes Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal at the spinner position and ironically Sri Lanka batsman Mahela Jayawardene was named as captain just before he announced that he would be giving up the Twenty20 captaincy.

The 11-man squad was chosen by a five-member ICC panel, according to reports published in the Express Tribune.

West Indies opener Chris Gayle and Australian all-rounder Shane Watson were named as the openers of the team, while Kohli, Jayawardene, England’s Luke Wright and West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels made up the middle order.

Sri Lanka Twenty20 bowling specialist Lasith Malinga and Australia seamer Mitchell Starc both occupied the fast bowling slots on the roster, while Sri Lanka spinner Ajantha Mendis accompanied Ajmal as the second spinner in the side.

The wicketkeeper’s position went to New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum, which leaves South Africa as the only major nation to not have any representatives in the squad.

Leave a Reply