Sri Lanka vs New Zealand 2nd Test Day 3: Latham stars as New Zealand take charge in Colombo

Tom Latham 111 not out Sri Lanka New Zealand 2nd Test Day 3 Colombo cricket

Tom Latham scored his 10th Test hundred

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Tom Latham struck a superb 111 not out to put New Zealand in charge against Sri Lanka on the third day of the second Test in Colombo.

Starting off the day on 144/6, Sri Lanka lost Dilruwan Perera early on as he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Ajaz Patel for 13 runs.

Suranga Lakmal mustered 10 runs before he was caught behind off the bowling of Tim Southee, who also took out Lasith Embuldeniya.

Sri Lanka were eventually bowled out for 244 when Dhananjaya de Silva was clean bowled by Trent Boult for 109, which came off 148 balls and included 16 boundaries and two sixes.

Dhananjaya de Silva 109 Sri Lanka New Zealand 2nd Test Day 3 Colombo cricket

Dhananjaya de Silva is all smiles after bringing up his fifth Test century

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Southee was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while Boult snapped up three, and Patel, William Somerville and Colin de Grandhomme chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Trailing by 244 runs, New Zealand lost opener Jeet Raval in the fourth over as he was dismissed by Dilruwan for a duck.

Captain Kane Williamson scored 20 runs before he was caught by Kusal Mendis at second slip off the bowling of Lahiru Kumara.

Latham and Ross Taylor steadied things with a 50-run partnership before Taylor was removed by Embuldeniya for 23.

Latham and Henry Nicholls added 42 runs to the score before Nicholls was sent packing by Dilruwan for 15.

Latham and BJ Watling kept the runs flowing with an unbeaten 70-run partnership, during which Latham brought up his hundred, before stumps was called.

Latham finished on 111, which came off 184 balls and included 10 boundaries, while Watling remained undefeated on 25, which came off 62 deliveries and included two boundaries.

Dilruwan was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Kumara and Embuldeniya claimed one wicket each.

New Zealand ended day three on 196/4 and will continue batting on Sunday at 09:45 local time or 04:15 GMT.

Leave a Reply