West Indies vs India 1st Test Day 2: Ishant takes five to put India in control

Ishant Sharma five wickets West Indies India 1st Test Day 2 Antigua cricket

Ishant Sharma finished with figures of 5-42 off 13 overs

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Ishant Sharma sliced through the West Indies’ batting line-up with a five-wicket haul to give India the upper hand on the second day in Antigua.

Starting off the day on 203/6, India only added four runs to their overnight score before Rishabh Pant was caught by West Indies captain Jason Holder at second slip off the bowling of Kemar Roach for 24.

Ravindra Jadeja and Ishant Sharma made up for the loss of Pant with a 60-run partnership before Ishant was clean bowled by Shannon Gabriel for 19.

Mohammed Shami failed to trouble the scorers as he was caught and bowled by Roston Chase for a golden duck.

India ended up being bowled out for 297 when Jadeja was caught behind off the bowling of Holder for 58, which came off 112 balls and included six boundaries and a six.

Roach was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while Gabriel snapped up three, Chase got two and Holder chipped in with one.

Trailing by 297 runs, the West Indies lost John Campbell in the eighth over as he was cleaned up by Shami for 23.

Kraigg Brathwaite only made 14 runs before he was caught and bowled by Ishant.

Debutant Shamarh Brooks fell shortly after, while Darren Bravo was trapped lbw off the bowling of Jasprit Bumrah for 18.

Chase managed to make 48 runs before he was caught by Lokesh Rahul at square leg off the bowling of Ishant.

Ishant then took out Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer and Roach for 24, 35 and a duck respectively.

Holder and Miguel Cummins managed to forge an unbeaten 10-run partnership before stumps was called.

Holder finished on 10, which came off 20 balls and included a boundary, while Cummins has yet to get off the mark.

Ishant was the most successful bowler with five wickets, while Bumrah, Shami and Jadeja claimed one wicket each.

West Indies ended day two on 189/8 and will continue batting on Saturday at 09:30 local time or 01:30 GMT.

Leave a Reply