2019 World Cup 1st Semi-final: New Zealand stun India to advance to World Cup final

Matt Henry three wickets New Zealand India World Cup semi-final Manchester cricket

New Zealand pace bowler Matt Henry was named Man of the Match for dismissing Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul and Dinesh Karthik

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

New Zealand booked their spot in the World Cup final after stunning India by 18 runs in their thrilling semi-final clash in Manchester.

New Zealand will now either play Australia or England in the final, depending on which side triumphs in their semi-final showdown at Edgbaston on Thursday.

Opting to bat first, New Zealand got off to a horrible start as opener Martin Guptill was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah for one run.

Henry Nicholls and captain Kane Williamson made up for the loss of Guptill with a 68-run partnership before Nicholls was clean bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for 28.

Williamson and Ross Taylor kept the runs flowing with a 65-run stand, during which Williamson brought up his half-century, before he was caught by Jadeja at point off the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal for 67, which came off 95 balls and included six boundaries.

James Neesham only scored 12 runs before he was dismissed by Hardik Pandya, while Colin de Grandhomme mustered 16 runs before he was caught behind off the bowling of Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Taylor and Tom Latham amassed an unbeaten 11-run partnership before the rain came.

Since it refused to relent, the match was postponed to the reserve day on Wednesday, where New Zealand continued from their current score of 211/5 off 46.1 overs.

Upon restarting the match, Taylor was run out by Jadeja early on for 74, which came off 90 balls and included three boundaries and a six.

On the very next ball, which was the start of the 49th over, Latham was brilliantly caught by Jadeja at midwicket off the bowling of Kumar for 10 runs.

With Kumar taking out Matt Henry five balls later, New Zealand eventually finished on 239/8.

Kumar was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Bumrah, Pandya, Jadeja and Chahal chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 240 to win, India got off to an awful start as opening batsman Rohit Sharma was caught behind off the bowling of Henry for one run on the ninth ball of the innings.

India were dealt another massive blow in the next over as captain Virat Kohli was trapped lbw off the bowling of Trent Boult for one run.

Things went from bad to worse for India as Lokesh Rahul was caught behind off the bowling of Henry for one run.

Dinesh Karthik only scored six runs before he was brilliantly caught by Neesham off the bowling of Henry.

Rishabh Pant and Pandya managed to add 47 runs to the score before Pant was removed by Mitchell Santner for 32.

Pandya also scored 32 before he was sent packing by Santner.

Jadeja and MS Dhoni steadied things with a 116-run partnership, during which Jadeja sailed past his fifty, before he was caught by Williamson off the bowling of Boult for 77, which came off 59 balls and included four boundaries and four sixes.

Dhoni went on to make a 72-ball 50, which included a boundary and a six, before he was brilliantly run out by Guptill.

Kumar was clean bowled by Lockie Ferguson three balls later.

India’s World Cup came to an end when they were bowled out for 221 after Yuzvendra Chahal was caught behind off the bowling of Neesham for five runs.

Henry was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Boult and Santner took two wickets apiece. As for Ferguson and Neesham, they claimed one wicket each.

Henry was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply