BBL 2018/19 45th Match: Dwarshuis’ three-for helps Sixers crush Strikers

Ben Dwarshuis three wickets Sydney Sixers Adelaide Strikers Big Bash League BBL 45th Match cricket

Ben Dwarshuis finished with figures of 3-7 off his four overs

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Ben Dwarshuis took three wickets during a highly economical spell to lead the Sydney Sixers to a comfortable eight-wicket win over the Adelaide Strikers.

Choosing to bowl first, the the Sixers got their first breakthrough on the third ball of the match as Strikers opener Alex Carey was run out for four runs.

Jake Weatherald, who opened the batting with Carey, only scored seven runs before he was caught by Sixers captain Moises Henriques at mid-on off the bowling of Dwarshuis.

Strikers skipper Colin Ingram was the next to go as he was caught by Steve O’Keefe at short third man off the bowling of Sean Abbott for a duck.

Jonathan Wells and Jake Lehmann steadied things with a 42-run partnership before Wells was clean bowled by Dwarshis for 23.

Matthew Short fell shortly after, while Lehmann went on to score a 46-ball 46, which included five boundaries, before he was dismissed by Dwarshuis.

Rashid Khan only mustered four runs, but Michel Neser walloped a quickfire 31 to help the Strikers finish on 124/8.

Dwarshuis was the pick of the bowler with three wickets, while Abbott snapped up two, and O’Keefe and Tom Curran chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 125 to win, the Sixers lost opener Josh Philippe early on as he was given out lbw off the bowling of Neser for four runs.

James Vince only made nine runs before he was sent packing by Billy Stanlake.

However, that was to be the Strikers’ last taste of success as Henriques and Daniel Hughes finished things off with an unbeaten 106-run partnership, during which both batsmen brought up their half-centuries.

Henriques ended up making 61, which came off 31 balls and included five boundaries and four sixes, while Hughes remained undefeated on 51, which came off 44 deliveries and included eight boundaries.

Stanlake and Neser claimed one wicket each.

Dwarshuis was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply