BBL 2018/19 22nd Match: Denly powers Sixers past Strikers

Joe Denly 76 Sydney Sixers Adelaide Strikers Big Bash League BBL 22nd Match cricket

Joe Denly hit eight boundaries and a six during his unbeaten knock of 76

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Joe Denly hammered an unbeaten 76 as the Sydney Sixers cruised past the Adelaide Strikers by six wickets at the Adelaide Oval.

Electing to bat first, the Strikers lost opener Alex Carey on the fifth ball of the match as he was run out for one run.

Captain Colin Ingram managed to make 15 before he was caught by Sixers skipper Moises Henriques at mid-off off the bowling of Sean Abbott.

Jake Weatherald and Matthew Short added 47 runs to the score before Short was clean bowled by Tom Curran for 16.

Weatherald went on to score a 40-ball 50, which included four boundaries and two sixes, before he was dismissed by Steve O’Keefe.

Michael Neser was the next to go, but Jonathan Wells walloped a 29-ball 42, which included three boundaries and a six, to help the Sixers finish on 150/5.

O’Keefe was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets, while Curran and Abbott chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 151 to win, the Sixers got off to a poor start as Justin Avendano was caught behind off the bowling of Neser for a duck.

Denly and Daniel Hughes made up for the loss of Avendano with a 47-run partnership before Hughes was clean bowled by Liam O’Connor for 24.

Denly and Henriques added 40 runs to the score before the latter was stumped by Carey off the bowling of Rashid Khan for 16.

Even though Jordan Silk was also dismissed by Rashid, Denly ensured the Sixers got across the finish line as he struck an unbeaten 76, which came off 60 balls and included eight boundaries and a six.

Rashid was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Neser and O’Connor claimed one wicket each.

Denly was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply