New Zealand vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 2: Latham stars as New Zealand dominate in Wellington

Tom Latham 121 not out New Zealand Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 2 Wellington cricket

Tom Latham celebrates after scoring his seventh Test century

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

New Zealand opener Tom Latham scored an unbeaten 121 as his side tormented Sri Lanka on the second day of the first Test in Wellington.

Latham was well supported by captain Kane Williamson and veteran batsman Ross Taylor as they made 91 and 50 not out respectively.

Starting off the day on 275/9, Sri Lanka only added seven runs to their overnight score before they were bowled out when Lahiru Kumara was dismissed by Tim Southee for a duck.

Wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella was left stranded on 80, which came off 101 balls and included 11 boundaries.

Southee was the pick of the bowlers with six wickets, while Neil Wagner snapped up two, and Trent Boult and Colin de Grandhomme chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Trailing by 282 runs, New Zealand got off to a good start as Latham and Jeet Raval amassed a 59-run partnership before Raval was caught behind off the bowling of Kumara for 43.

Latham and Williamson kept the runs flowing with a 162-run partnership, during which both batsmen sailed past their fifties.

Just as Williamson was nearing his hundred, disaster struck as he was removed by Dhananjaya de Silva for 91, which came off 93 balls and included 10 boundaries.

Kane Williamson 91 New Zealand Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 2 Wellington cricket

Kane Williamson fell nine runs short of his 20th Test hundred

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Latham and Taylor continued New Zealand’s domination with the bat as they forged an unbeaten 90-run stand, during which Latham brought up his hundred and Taylor his half-century, before stumps was called.

Latham finished on 121, which came off 256 balls and included 11 boundaries, while Taylor remained undefeated on 50, which came off 86 deliveries and included five boundaries.

Kumara and De Silva claimed one wicket each.

New Zealand ended day two on 311/2 and will continue batting on Monday at 11:00 local time or 22:00 GMT.

Leave a Reply