Sri Lanka vs England 3rd Test Day 1: Bairstow marks comeback with superb ton

Jonny Bairstow 110 Sri Lanka England 3rd Test Day 1 Colombo cricket

Jonny Bairstow soaks in the moment after scoring his sixth Test century

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

England batsman Jonny Bairstow enjoyed a successful Test return as he scored a brilliant 110 on the opening day of the third Test against Sri Lanka in Colombo.

Electing to bat first, England lost opener Rory Burns early on as he was clean bowled by Dilruwan Perera for 14 runs.

Keaton Jennings, who opened the bating with Burns, only mustered 13 runs before he was dismissed by Malinda Pushpakumara.

Bairstow and England captain Joe Root stabilised the innings with a 100-run partnership, during which Bairstow brought up his fifty, before Root was caught by Danushka Gunathilaka at midwicket off the bowling of Lakshan Sandakan for 46.

Bairstow and Ben Stokes kept the runs flowing with a 99-run stand, during which Bairstow registered his hundred and Stokes his fifty.

Ben Stokes 57 Sri Lanka England 3rd Test Day 1 Colombo cricket

Ben Stokes scored his 16th Test fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Stokes ended up making 57, which came off 88 balls and included five boundaries and two sixes, before he was removed by Sandakan.

Bairstow went on to score 110, which came off 186 deliveries and included nine boundaries and a six, before he was clean bowled by Sandakan.

Jos Buttler scored 16 before he became Sandakan’s fourth victim, while wicketkeeper Ben Foakes made 13 before being caught behind off the bowling of Pushpakumara.

Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid managed to forge an unbeaten 18-run partnership before bad light brought play to an end for the day.

Moeen finished on 23, which came off 46 balls and included two boundaries, while Rashid remained undefeated on 13, which came off 21 deliveries and included a boundary.

Sandakan was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while Pushpakumara snapped up two and Dilruwan claimed one.

England ended day one on 312/7 and will continue batting on Saturday at 10:00 local time or 04:30 GMT.

Leave a Reply