Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2nd Test Day 2: Rahim’s historic double hundred keeps Bangladesh in control

Mushfiqur Rahim 219 not out Bangladesh Zimbabwe 2nd Test Day 2 Dhaka cricket

Mushfiqur Rahim became the first wicketkeeper to score two double centuries in Test cricket

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Bangladesh wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim struck a record-breaking and career-best 219 not out to keep his side in complete control over Zimbabwe on the second day in Dhaka.

Starting off the day on 303/5, Rahim and Mahmudullah converted their four-run partnership into a 73-run stand before Mahmudullah was caught behind off the bowling of Kyle Jarvis.

Ariful Haque only scored four runs before he caught caught by Brian Chari at point off the bowling of Jarvis.

Despite losing two quick wickets, Rahim and Mehidy Hasan Miraz steadied things with an unbeaten 144-run partnership, during which Rahim brought up his double century and Mehidy his fifty, before Bangladesh declared on 522/7.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz 68 not out Bangladesh Zimbabwe 2nd Test Day 2 Dhaka cricket

Mehidy Hasan Miraz scored his second Test fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Rahim made history with his career-best knock of 219 not out, which came off 421 balls and included 18 boundaries and a six, as he became the first wicketkeeper in Test history to score two double hundreds.

As for Mehidy, he finished on a career-best 68, which came off 102 deliveries and included five boundaries and a six.

Jarvis was the pick of the bowlers with five wickets, while Tendai Chatara and Donald Tiripano chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Trailing by 522 runs, Zimbabwe got off to a disappointing start as captain Hamilton Masakadza was caught by Mehidy at first slip off the bowling of Taijul Islam for 14.

Chari and Tiripano, who was sent in as the nightwatchman, managed to forge an unbeaten five-run partnership before stumps was called.

Chari finished on 10, while Tiripano has yet to get off the mark.

Taijul was the only bowler to take a wicket.

Zimbabwe ended day two on 25/1 and will continue batting on Tuesday at 09:30 local time or 03:30 GMT.

Leave a Reply