Sri Lanka vs England 2nd ODI: Morgan’s 92 helps England triumph in rain-affected showdown

Eoin Morgan 92 Sri Lanka England 2nd ODI Dambulla cricket

Eoin Morgan scored his 40th ODI fifty

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

England captain Eoin Morgan led by example as he scored a superb 92 to not only lead his side to a 31-run win over Sri Lanka via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method in the second ODI in Dambulla, but also hand them a 1-0 lead in the five-match series.

Being put in to bat first, England were dealt a major blow on the fourth ball of the match as opening batsman Jason Roy was caught by Akila Dananjaya at midwicket off the bowling of Lasith Malinga for a duck.

Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root made up for the loss of Roy with a 72-run partnership before Bairstow was clean bowled by Thisara Perera for 26.

Root and Morgan kept the runs flowing with a 68-run stand, during which Root surpassed his fifty, before he was dismissed by Dhananjaya de Silva for 71, which came off 83 balls and included six boundaries.

Joe Root 71 Sri Lanka England 2nd ODI Dambulla cricket

Joe Root struck his 29th half-century in ODI cricket

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Morgan and Stokes added 50 runs to the score, during which Morgan brought up his half-century, before Stokes was caught by De Silva at point off the bowling of Dananjaya for 15.

Morgan went on to score a 91-ball 92, which included 11 boundaries and two sixes, before he was caught and bowled by Malinga.

Malinga then proceeded to rip through England’s lower order, but Jos Buttler’s 29 and Adil Rashid’s unbeaten 19 helped the tourists finish on 278/9 off their 50 overs.

Malinga was the pick of the bowlers with five wickets, while Dananjaya, Thisara, De Silva and Nuwan Pradeep chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Lasith Malinga five wickets Sri Lanka England 2nd ODI Dambulla cricket

Lasith Malinga finished with figures of 5-44 off his 10 overs

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Chasing 279 to win, Sri Lanka got off to a horrendous start as opener Upul Tharanga was caught behind off the bowling of Chris Woakes for a golden duck on the sixth ball of the innings.

Niroshan Dickwella only made nine runs before he was caught behind off the bowling of Olly Stone.

With captain Dinesh Chandimal and Dasun Shanaka falling shortly after, the hosts found themselves in serious trouble at 31/4.

Kusal Perera and De Silva managed to put together a 43-run partnership before Kusal was sent packing by Liam Dawson for 30.

De Silva and Thisara kept the scoreboard ticking with an unbeaten 66-run stand before the rain came.

With the rain refusing to relent, England were declared the winners by 31 runs via the DLS method.

De Silva ended up making 36 off 50 balls, which included two boundaries and a six, while Thisara remained undefeated on a 49-ball 44, which included a boundary and three sixes.

Woakes was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Stone and Dawson claimed one wicket each.

Morgan was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply