Karunratne ruled out of Test series against West Indies

Dimuth Karunaratne miss Sri Lanka tour West Indies Test series fractured finger cricket

Dimuth Karunaratne will play no part in Sri Lanka’s upcoming tour of the West Indies

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne will miss the upcoming three-Test series against the West Indies due to a fractured finger.

Karunaratne sustained the injury when he was batting in the nets earlier this month in preparation for a limited overs domestic tournament.

With Karunaratne out, Sri Lanka have called up Mahela Udawatte, who has yet to make his Test debut, but has featured in nine ODIs and eight Twenty20 Internationals. However, Udawatte has not represented Sri Lanka since October 2017.

Udawatte is not the only player who hasn’t played Test cricket as Sri Lanka also included Kasun Rajitha, Jeffrey Vandersay and Asitha Fernando, all of whom find themselves in the same boat.

Kusal Perera, who last played Test cricket in December 2016, also made the cut as he was chosen ahead of Danushka Gunathilaka, who recently recovered from an injury.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Angelo Mathews and pace bowler Suranga Lakmal’s participation will depend on the outcome of a fitness test as they are both nursing leg injuries.

“Mathews and Lakmal are not unfit as such,” chief selector Graeme Labrooy told ESPNcricinfo. “In fact they are fit, but we wanted to see if they were match-fit. The team is at a training camp in Pallekele, so we’ll give them until May 14 before we make a final decision on those two players.”

The pace duo of Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep will miss the tour due to back and hamstring injuries respectively, while all-rounder Lakshan Sandakan was dropped.

The Test series between the West Indies and Sri Lanka will begin on June 6 in Trinidad. The second Test will be held in St Lucia on June 14, while the third Test, which will be the first-ever day-night Test in the Caribbean, will be played in Barbados and get underway on June 23.

Sri Lanka’s Test squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Mahela Udawatte, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Roshen Silva, Angelo Mathews (subject to fitness), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal (subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara, Asitha Fernando

Leave a Reply