Australia to host men’s and women’s World T20 in 2020

Australia host men's women's World Twenty20 2020 cricket

The Melbourne Cricket Ground in Australia will host the final of the men’s and women’s World Twenty20 in 2020

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that Australia will host both the men’s and women’s World Twenty20 tournaments in 2020.

This is the first time both competitions will be held in the same country. The women’s World Twenty20 will run from February 21 to March 8, while the men’s tournament will get underway on October 18 and conclude on November 15.

The final of both tournaments will be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

“I’d like to thank Cricket Australia and their partners in Government at all levels for their commitment to the ICC World T20 in 2020,” ICC chief executive David Richardson said in a statement. “The ambition they have shown firstly in delivering stand-alone men’s and women’s events and then in the venue selection that will I hope set a record for the biggest ever attendance at a women’s sporting event is exciting for the sport.”

In regards to the venues being used, the women’s group stage matches will be played at the WACA in Perth, Melbourne’s Junction Oval, the Manuka Oval in Canberra and Sydney’s Spotless Stadium.

As for the men’s fixtures, they will be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sydney Cricket Ground, the Optus Stadium in Perth, Geelong’s Kardinia Park, the Gabba in Brisbane and Blundstone Arena in Hobart.

“Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020,” David Peever, Cricket Australia chairman and head of the ICC World T20 2020 Local Organising Committee, said. “ICC World T20 2020 provides a unique opportunity to engage the whole community and inspire the next generation to love cricket.”

While there will be another women’s World Twenty20 in 2018, where the West Indies will be looking to retain the trophy, the men’s tournament will be held straight in 2020, where the West Indies will be looking to accomplish the same thing after stunning England with a sensational come-from-behind win in 2016.

Leave a Reply