Thisara, Siriwardana return to Sri Lanka’s ODI squad

Thisara last represented Sri Lanka at the Champions Trophy

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Sri Lanka have included all-rounders Thisara Perera and Milinda Siriwardana in their squad for the upcoming five-match ODI series against India.

Thisara last represented Sri Lanka at the Champions Trophy in England in June and since then, he has been playing for Gloucestershire in the Natwest T20 Blast.

Siriwardana’s absence from the ODI squad has been for a longer period of time as the last time he donned the Sri Lanka jersey in a 50-over game was against Bangladesh in April.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka have also opted to include the uncapped duo of Malinda Pushpakumara and Vishwa Fernando, who have only played Test cricket to date.

All-rounder Asela Gunaratne and pace bowler Nuwan Pradeep will miss the ODI series due to injury, while Asitha Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekara and Lahiru Kumara have all been dropped.

The series, which gets underway on August 20 in Dambulla, will be Upul Tharanga’s first as ODI captain as he took over the role after Angelo Mathews’ resignation in July.

Sri Lanka’s ODI Squad: Upul Tharanga (captain), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Chamara Kapugedera, Milinda Siriwardana, Malinda Pushpakumara, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Thisara Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lasith Malinga, Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando

Leave a Reply