CPL 2017 11th Match: Narine’s 79 too much for Tridents to handle

Narine smashed six boundaries and five sixes during his innings of 79

Image courtesy of: CPL T20 Ltd

Trinbago Knight Riders opener Sunil Narine struck a crucial 79 to lead his side to a two-wicket win over the Barbados Tridents in Trinidad.

Choosing to bowl first, the Knight Riders got rid of Dwayne Smith and Wayne Parnell within the first two overs of the match.

However, the Barbados Tridents fought back as Shoaib Malik and Kane Williamson amassed a 71-run partnership before Williamson was dismissed by Shadab Khan for 30.

Malik went on to make 51 off 38 balls, which included five boundaries, before he was sent packing by Ronsford Beaton.

With the Tridents losing wickets at regular intervals after Malik’s dismissal, they ended up finishing on 152/9 off their 20 overs.

Beaton and captain Dwayne Bravo picked up two wickets apiece, while Shadab, Kevon Cooper and Khary Pierre chipped in with one wicket each.

Chasing 153 to win, the Knight Riders were dealt a huge blow on the fourth ball of their innings as opener Brendon McCullum was clean bowled by Parnell for four runs.

Colin Munro fared no better as he only scored five runs, but after he was gone, the Knight Riders began to rebuild their innings through a 47-run partnership between Narine and Darren Bravo.

Bravo was ultimately caught behind off the bowling of Wahab Riaz for 25, while Denesh Ramdin only made one run before returning back to the pavilion.

Despite the two quick wickets, Narine and Dwayne Bravo kept the Knight Riders in contention as they accumulated a 63-run stand before Bravo was cleaned up by Shamar Springer for 18.

Despite more wickets falling in quick succession, including that of Narine, who scored 79 off 45 balls, which included six boundaries and five sixes, the Knight Riders managed to reach their target with five balls to spare.

Springer was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Parnell took two and Riaz, Malik and skipper Kieron Pollard claimed one wicket each.

Leave a Reply