CPL 2017 5th Match: McCarthy, Sami guide Tallawahs to victory over Tridents

McCarthy hammered three boundaries and three sixes during his knock of 60

Image courtesy of: CPL T20 Ltd

Andre McCarthy smashed a magnificent 60, while Mohammad Sami took four wickets as the Jamaica Tallawahs downed the Barbados Tridents by 12 runs in Lauderhill, Florida.

Choosing to bat first, the Tallawahs lost skipper Kumar Sangakkara early on as he was dismissed by Ravi Rampaul for 12 runs.

Lendl Simmons and McCarthy made up for it with a 51-run partnership before Simmons was removed by Wahab Riaz for 30.

Riaz struck again the very next ball as Imad Wasim was trapped lbw for a golden duck. Two balls later, Riaz had his third wicket as he clean bowled Rovman Powell for a duck.

The Tallawahs recovered from Riaz’s triple strike as McCarthy and Shakib Al Hasan amassed an 84-run stand, during which McCarthy surpassed his half-century, before he was sent packing by Wayne Parnell for 60 off 44 balls, which included three boundaries and three sixes.

Shakib ended up making 44 not out, which came off 32 deliveries and included five boundaries and a six, as the Tallawahs finished on 154/5 off their 20 overs.

Riaz was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Rampaul and Parnell chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 155 to win, the Tridents were dealt two early blows as Kane Williamson and Shoaib Malik were dismissed for seven and eight runs respectively.

Akeal Hosein only made 12 runs, while Dwayne Smith scored 20 before falling to Sami, who took out Nicholas Pooran two balls later.

Tridents captain Kieron Pollard and Chris Barnwell put together a valiant 50-run partnership before Barnwell was removed by Kesrick Williams for 13.

Shakib then proceeded to get rid of Parnell, while Sami took out Riaz and Pollard, who made 62 off 33 balls, which included two boundaries and six sixes.

Once Pollard was gone, it was all over for the Tridents as they ended up being bowled out for 142.

Sami was the most successful bowler with four wickets, while Williams, Wasim, Shakib and Krishmar Santokie claimed one wicket each.

Leave a Reply