CPL 2017 3rd Match: Hosein stars as Tridents triumph over Tallawahs

Malik was the Tridents’ top-scorer with 33 runs

Image courtesy of: CPL T20 Ltd

Akeal Hosein thumped an unbeaten 22 and followed it up with two wickets as the Barbados Tridents began their Caribbean Premier League (CPL) journey with a 12-run win over the Jamaica Tallawahs, who are the reigning champions.

Electing to bat first, the Tridents made a cautious start to their innings, but Kesrick Williams provided the breakthrough for the Tallawahs by taking out Kane Williamson for 13.

Williamson’s opening partner, Dwayne Smith, was looking in dangerous form, but his time at the crease came to an end when he was given out lbw off the bowling of Shakib Al Hasan for 28.

Nicholas Pooran, captain Kieron Pollard and Chris Barnwell fell in quick succession, but Shoaib Malik managed to make a 27-ball 33 before he was sent packing by Williams.

Thanks to Wayne Parnell’s 25 and Hosein’s unbeaten 22, the Tridents finished on 142/7 off their 20 overs.

Williams, Krishmar Santokie and Imad Wasim picked up two wickets apiece, while Shakib chipped in with one.

Chasing 143 to win, the Tallawahs lost opener Kumar Sangakkara on the seventh ball of the innings as he was dismissed by Ravi Rampaul for a golden duck.

Lendl Simmons and Andre McCarthy made up for it with a 62-run partnership before McCarthy was given out lbw off the bowling of Imran Khan for 22.

Shakib was clean bowled by Hosein for one run, while Simmons went on to make 53 off 46 balls, which included six boundaries and a six.

With Hosein taking out Jonathan Foo for three runs and Rovman Powell being removed for 13, Wasim and Santokie tried to lead the Tallawahs to victory, but it was to no avail as their knock of 16 and 11 respectively went in vain.

Hosein was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Rampaul, Imran and Wahab Riaz claimed one wicket each.

Leave a Reply