Dickwella fined for attempted stumping

“Dickwella admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Chris Broad”

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Sri Lanka wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella was fined 30 per cent of his match fee after attempting a stumping that was deemed to be “contrary to the spirit of the game”.

The incident, which occurred in the seventh over of Zimbabwe’s innings in the first ODI on Friday, saw Dickwella collect the ball and wait for a few seconds before opening batsman Solomon Mire left his crease. He then proceeded to whip off the bails and appeal.

Even though the decision went to the third umpire, Mire was found to be in his crease when the bails were dislodged.

“Dickwella admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by match referee Chris Broad and, as such, there was no need for a formal hearing,” an International Cricket Council (ICC) release said.

In addition to being fined, Dickwella was also handed two demerit points, which puts him on the brink of being suspended.

This is the third fine the 24-year-old has accumulated this year as in February, he and South Africa pace bowler Kagiso Rabada made contact with each other when it could have been avoided.

Later that month, he showed dissent to an umpire’s decision during the second Twenty20 International against Australia. As a result, he was banned for two limited over matches.

If Dickwella gains demerit points again in the next two years, he will be cop a similar suspension.

Sri Lanka were stunned by six wickets in the first ODI and will be looking to level the series when they take on Zimbabwe in the second ODI on Sunday.

Leave a Reply