IPL 2017 7th Match: Rana stars as Indians win nail-biting showdown

Rana celebrates after scoring his second IPL fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Nitish Rana wreaked havoc with the bat, scoring a 29-ball 50, to guide the Mumbai Indians to a thrilling four-wicket win over the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Rana’s knock proved crucial as it provided the perfect platform for Hardik Pandya to carry the franchise across the finish line with just one ball to spare.

Being put in to bat first, the Knight Riders got off to a solid start before being dealt a double blow as captain Gautam Gambhir and wicketkeeper Robin Uthappa were dismissed for 19 and four runs respectively.

Chris Lynn was the next to go after making an encouraging 32. The Knight Riders continued to lose wickets at regular intervals despite Manish Pandey’s best efforts.

Pandey ended up making an 81 not out, which came off 47 balls and included five boundaries and five sixes, to get his side to 178/7 off their 20 overs.

Pandey scored his eighth IPL fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Krunal Pandya was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Lasith Malinga snapped up two and Mitchell McClenaghan and Jasprit Bumrah chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 179 to win, the Indians started on a high as wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel and Jos Buttler put together a 65-run partnership before Patel was trapped lbw off the bowling of Kuldeep Yadav for 30.

Buttler went on to make 28 and once he was dismissed, captain Rohit Sharma and Kruna followed shortly after.

Kieron Pollard managed to make 17, while Rana and Hardik’s 41-run partnership kept the Indians in the hunt.

Even though Rana ended up being removed for 50 off 29 balls, which included five boundaries and three sixes, the Indians went into the final over needing 11 runs to win.

Hardik took it upon himself to get the job done and went on to guide the Indians to victory with a boundary off the penultimate ball of the match.

Hardik finished unbeaten on 29, which came off 11 deliveries and included three boundaries and two sixes.

Ankit Rajpoot was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Kuldeep, Sunil Narine and Chris Woakes claimed one wicket each.

Rana was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply