West Indies include four uncapped players in T20 squad

Carter could make his Twenty20 International debut on March 26

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

The uncapped quartet of Jason Mohammed, Veerasammy Permaul, Jonathan Carter and Rovman Powell have been drafted into the West Indies’ Twenty20 squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan.

Carter and Mohammed are coming off an excellent showing in the recent three-match ODI series against England as they were the second and third-highest run-scorers respectively.

Carter made 137 runs, which included a fifty, at an average of 45.66, while Mohammed accumulated 132 runs, which included two half-centuries, at an average of 44.

Meanwhile, it was also announced that Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree and Lendl Simmons will be back in action for the four-match series.

Initially, the quartet were only picked for the first two matches as all of them will be involved in the Indian Premier League (IPL), which begins three days after the conclusion of the series. However, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have confirmed that they will be available for selection for all four games.

The four-match Twenty20 series between the West Indies and Pakistan begins on March 26 in Barbados.

West Indies T20 Squad: Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Jonathan Carter, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Keswick Williams.

Leave a Reply