Cook, Morris receive central contracts for first time

Cook is one of the players that received a central contract for the first time

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Several players received central contracts for the first time after Cricket South Africa revealed their list of contracted players for the 2017/18 season.

Stephen Cook, who opens the batting in Test cricket for the Proteas, all-rounders Chris Morris and Andile Phehlukwayo, and spinners Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj all found themselves among the list of centrally contracted players for the first time in their careers.

“With a busy season ahead of us which also means heavier workloads on players, we decided to increase the number of men’s national contracts from 18 to 21,” Cricket South Africa chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. “We also needed to recognize that certain players are specialists in certain formats of the game.”

Meanwhile, Quinton de Kock, who has a dual role as an opener and wicketkeeper, and pace bowler Kagiso Rabada were rewarded with multi-year contracts for their string of strong performances.

“We are fortunate to have transitioned successfully and we now boast a strong squad made up of young and experienced world class stars,” Lorgat said.

The new central contracts will be valid from April 1, 2017 to March 31, 2018. In that time, South Africa will feature in the Champions Trophy, tour England and host Bangladesh, India and Australia at home.

List of Contracted Players: Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Stephen Cook, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.

Leave a Reply