Malinga back in Sri Lanka T20 squad

Malinga has not played any international cricket since February last year

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Veteran Sri Lanka pace bowler Lasith Malinga has been picked for his side’s three-match Twenty20 series against Australia, which begins on February 17 in Melbourne.

Malinga has not been considered for selection ever since he withdrew from the World Twenty20 last year with a bone bruise in his left knee.

Malinga was supposed to be fully recovered within five months, but he was diagnosed with dengue fever in December and therefore, his return was postponed.

Meanwhile, Upul Tharanga will captain Sri Lanka during the series, while Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal were all dropped. Kusal Perera and Jeffrey Vandersay also failed to make the cut.

This paved the way for Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Dilshan Munaweera and Chamara Kapugedara to be recalled.

Sri Lanka T20 Squad: Upul Tharanga (capt), Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asela Gunaratna, Dilshan Munaweera, Kusal Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana, Sachith Pathirana, Chamara Kapugedara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Kulasekara, Isuru Udana, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Vikum Sanjaya.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s