India vs Bangladesh Only Test Day 1: Kohli, Vijay torment lacklustre Bangladesh

Kohli celebrates after scoring his 16th Test hundred

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Captain Virat Kohli and opening batsman Murali Vijay made 111 not out and 108 respectively as India dominated Bangladesh on the opening day of the one-off Test in Hyderabad.

Kohli’s hundred was his 12th as captain and he has now joined Mohammad Azharuddin in second place on the all-time list for most Test centuries by an Indian skipper. Sunil Gavaskar leads the way with 11.

Opting to bat first, India were dealt a major blow on the fourth ball of the match as opener Lokesh Rahul was clean bowled by Taskin Ahmed for two runs.

Murali Vijay and Cheteshwar Pujara made up for the early loss of Rahul with a 178-run partnership, during which both batsmen surpassed their half-centuries.

With India having turned the tide in their favour and both Vijay and Pujara approaching their hundreds, Mehedi Hasan Miraz provided the breakthrough Bangladesh sorely needed as he had Pujara caught behind for 83, which came off 177 balls and included nine boundaries.

Pujara scored his 12th Test fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

During his knock, Pujara broke the record for the most runs scored by a batsman in an Indian first-class season. The previous record belonged to Chandu Borde, who made 1,604 runs in 1964/65, while Pujara had made 1,605 when he was dismissed.

Vijay went on to make 108 off 160 balls, which included 12 boundaries and a six, before he was clean bowled by Taijul Islam.

Vijay raises his bat upon bringing up his ninth Test century

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India captain Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane ensured their side ended the day on a high as they put together an unbeaten 122-run stand, during which Kohli surpassed his hundred, before stumps was called.

Kohli finished on 111 off 141 balls, which included 12 boundaries, while Rahane remained undefeated on 45 off 60 deliveries, which included seven boundaries.

Taskin, Mehedi and Taijul picked up one wicket apiece.

India ended day one on 356/3 and will continue batting on Friday at 09:30 local time or 04:00 GMT.

Leave a Reply