De Villiers to miss Test series; Steyn rested for ODIs and T20s

De Villiers will miss the two-Test series, which begins on July 21

De Villiers will miss the two-Test series, which begins on July 21

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers’ 98-Test streak will come to an end as he will miss the upcoming Test series against Bangladesh after being granted paternity leave by Cricket South Africa due to the impending birth of his first child.

However, de Villiers will feature in the ODI and Twenty20 series, which will take place prior to the Test series.

Since the Proteas are playing against a lower-ranked Test nation, Cricket South Africa have decided to include four uncapped players – batsman Reeza Hendricks, wicketkeeper Dane Vilas, left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso and pace bowler Kagiso Rabada – in the squad.

“Reeza and Stiaan van Zyl are both options to open the batting and Stiaan can also be used in AB’s batting position in the middle-order,” Cricket South Africa’s convener of selectors Andrew Hudson said. “Dane provides us with the wicketkeeping cover that would normally also be AB’s responsibility.

“Aaron gives us a left-arm spin bowling option and we see this as the ideal opportunity to involve Kagiso in the Test team environment once again, so he will be the back-up fast bowling option.”

It has also been confirmed that de Villiers will lead the Proteas during the three-match ODI series, which gets underway on July 10.

Meanwhile, the pace duo of Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander have been rested for the ODI series, while Steyn will miss the Twenty20 series as well.

As a result of this, Rabada and fast bowler Chris Morris have been picked in the ODI team, along with all-rounder Ryan McLaren.

It has also been confirmed that uncapped leg-spinner Eddie Leie has been drafted into the Twenty20 side, which does not include Steyn, Morne Morkel and Imran Tahir.

“With next year’s ICC World Twenty20 to be played in India we need to explore our bowling options under sub-continent conditions,” Hudson said. “Morris has done well in the IPL as have David Wiese and Beuran Hendricks and this tour represents an important opportunity to broaden their international playing experience.”

South Africa Test squad: Hashim Amla (capt), Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Faf du Plessis, Stiaan van Zyl, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Simon Harmer, Temba Bavuma, Kagiso Rabada, Dane Vilas

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla (vice-capt), Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren

T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, David Miller, David Wiese, Chris Morris, Kyle Abbott, Kagiso Rabada, Aaron Phangiso, Eddie Leie, Wayne Parnell, Beuran Hendricks

Leave a Reply