BCCI reveal venues for South Africa and Sri Lanka series

South Africa triumphed 1-0 in the last Test series against India in December 2013

South Africa triumphed 1-0 in their last Test series against India in December 2013

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have confirmed the venues for the national team’s home series against South Africa in October and Sri Lanka in February.

India’s series against South Africa will consist of four Tests, five ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals, while the series against Sri Lanka will only contain three Twenty20 Internationals.

It has been confirmed that the four Tests against South Africa will be played in Delhi, Ahmedabad, Bangalore and Nagpur and the five ODIs will be hosted by Chennai, Kanpur, Mumbai, Rajkot and one of the two Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association venues, which will either be Indore or Gwalior. The three Twenty20 Internationals involving the Proteas will be held in Kolkata, Mohali and Dharamsala.

In terms of the Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka, the three matches will be hosted by Pune, Visakhapatnam and Delhi.

However, BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur has revealed that a more detailed schedule will be released in the near future.

“The table does not indicate the sequence in which the matches will be played,” he said. “The detailed schedule with the exact dates will be announced later.”

Leave a Reply