Ajmal to represent Pakistan in all three formats during tour of Bangladesh

Ajmal's last match for Pakistan came in August 2014

Ajmal’s last match for Pakistan came in August 2014

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal has been included in the Test, ODI and Twenty20 squads for the upcoming tour of Bangladesh after his remodelled action was cleared by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Joining Ajmal in all three squads are all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez and the pace duo of Wahab Riaz and Sohail Khan.

There was no place in either three squads for wicketkeeper-batsman Umar Akmal, while opener Ahmed Shehzad was only picked in the Twenty20 side. Veteran batsman Younis Khan was left out of the ODI squad, but retained in the Test side.

Meanwhile, all-rounder Fawad Alam regained his spot in the ODI side, while left-arm seamer Junaid Khan is set to make his comeback after being included in the Test and Twenty20 squads.

“We carried out an in-depth discussion about Pakistan’s World Cup performance, our future strategy and how we can take the team forward,” chief selector Haroon Rasheed said. “The Test ranking is good but the area of concern is the one-day team as our ranking is quite low, around seventh position. We need stability and the upcoming Bangladesh tour is very important and we have to give continuity to the team.”

The selection panel have also picked a host of new faces, including Mohammad Rizwan, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam and Mukhtar Ahmed.

Pakistan Test squad: Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Sami Aslam, Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Sohail Khan, Rahat Ali

Pakistan ODI squad: Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Azhar Ali (capt), Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood, Sami Aslam, Saeed Ajmal, Yasir Shah, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan

Pakistan T20 squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Mukhtar Ahmed, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi (capt), Sohail Tanvir, Saad Nasim, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Khan, Umar Gul, Junaid Khan

Leave a Reply