Taijul, Al-Amin and Sunny receive central contracts

Islam took 29 wickets in six international matches last year

Islam took 29 wickets in six international matches last year

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Bangladesh spinner Taijul Islam, pace bowler Al-Amin Hossain and left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny have all received central contracts for the 2015 season.

Batsman Imrul Kayes and pace bowler Shafiul Islam have also been handed central contracts after missing out in 2014.

However, left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak failed to secure a central contract for the first time in 10 years, while Sohag Gazi was omitted from the list of centrally contracted players since he was recently banned from bowling. Pace bowler Robiul Islam did not manage to attain a central contract as well due to injury concerns.

While none of the players will be receiving more money, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) president Nazmul Hassan stated that the number of centrally contracted players has risen from 12 to 14.

Meanwhile, Hassan also revealed that former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mahmud has been appointed as the national team’s manager for the World Cup.

In addition to that, Bangladesh’s first Test captain, Naimur Rahman, will replace Akram Khan as the BCB’s cricket operations committee chairman. Khan will now head the board’s tournament committee.

Furthermore, it has also been confirmed that Enayet Hossain Siraj will take over as head of the working committee.


Contract list for 2015 season


A+ (Tk Two lakh per month) – Mashrafe Mortaza, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal


A (Tk 1.7 lakh per month) – Mahmudullah


B (Tk 1.2 lakh per month) – Rubel Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Imrul Kayes


C (Tk 90,000 per month) – Mominul Haque, Anamul Haque, Shafiul Islam


D (Tk 60,000 per month) – Taijul Islam, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny

Leave a Reply