Pakistan recall Taufeeq Umar for Test series against Australia

Umar's last Test for Pakistan came against Sri Lanka in July 2012

Umar’s last Test for Pakistan came against Sri Lanka in July 2012

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Pakistan have recalled opening batsman Taufeeq Umar for the Test series against Australia, which started today in Dubai.

It has also been announced that the uncapped duo of Yasir Shah and Imran Khan have been included in the squad as well, while all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez has been recalled after recovering from a hand injury.

Left-arm spinner Zulfiqar Babar and batsman Haris Sohail have also been drafted into the 16-man squad.

The most notable exclusions include spinner Saeed Ajmal, who is still banned from bowling, the pace duo of Junaid Khan and Wahab Riaz, both of whom are injured, and batsman Umar Akmal and left-arm spinner Abdur Rehman since their fitness levels are not up to par.

Pakistan Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Ehsan Adil, Haris Sohail, Imran Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Talha, Rahat Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Shan Masood, Taufeeq Umar, Yasir Shah, Younis Khan, Zulfiqar Babar

Leave a Reply