De Villiers takes home four awards at Cricket South Africa ceremony

De Villiers received the cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year, players' player and fans' player of the year awards

De Villiers was named the cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year, players’ player and fans’ player of the year

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

South Africa wicketkeeper-batsman AB de Villiers took home four awards at the annual Cricket South Africa ceremony on June 4.

De Villiers was named cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year, players’ player and fans’ player of the year.

The only award de Villiers was nominated for and did not win was ODI cricketer of the year, which was awarded to Quinton de Kock.

De Kock had a highly successful 2013-14 season as he scored 609 runs in ODIs at an astounding average of 67.66. In addition to that, he scored four centuries, three of which came one after another, which made him only the fifth player to accomplish that feat. De Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Zaheer Abbas and Saeed Anwar are the other players who have scored three ODI centuries in a row.

Meanwhile, spinner Imran Tahir was named Twenty20 cricketer of the year for taking 18 wickets in nine matches at a jaw-dropping average of 11.

Veteran all-rounder Jacques Kallis was given a special award for scoring a century in his final Test match.

In the domestic awards, Justin Ontong was named first-class cricketer of the year, while Heino Kuhn received the one-day cup player of the season for scoring 470 runs in 11 matches at a brilliant average of 47.

David Miller was named Twenty20 player of the season. Miller, who represented the Dolphins, scored 383 runs in 12 matches while maintaining a strike-rate of 153.2.

Lance Klusner picked up the coach of the year award, while Kyle Abbott was named domestic players’ player of the year and the South African Cricketers Associations’ most valuable player.

There was even an award for groundsman of the year, which went to Wilson Ngobese, who is the groundsman at Kingsmead.


Full List of Awards


Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers


Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers


ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock


T20 Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir


Players’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers


Fans’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers


KFC ‘So Good’ Award: Jacques Kallis for his century v India in his final Test.


RAM Delivery of the Year: Dale Steyn to Brad Haddin in the second Test v Australia at St George’s Park


Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp


First-class cricketer of the Season: Justin Ontong


One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Heino Kuhn


T20 Player of the Season: David Miller


Coach of the Year: Lance Klusener


Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Kyle Abbott


CSA Fair Play Award: Dolphins


SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Kyle Abbott


Groundsman of the Year: Wilson Ngobese (Kingsmead)

Leave a Reply