Razzak replaces Sunny in Bangladesh’s World T20 squad

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Razzak has fully recovered from a hamstring injury he sustained earlier this month

Bangladesh left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak has replaced fellow spinner Arafat Sunny in the country’s World Twenty20 squad after recovering from a hamstring injury.

It was also announced that Mushfiqur Rahim would captain the team.

“The Bangladesh team is a blend of experience and youth,” Bangladesh chief selector Faruque Ahmed said. “We have considered the fact that this was a world event and experience was necessary as well as giving opportunity to youngsters like Mominul Haque and Sabbir Rahman who have the potential to excel in the shortest format.

“Someone like Arafat Sunny, who has impressed everyone and had been performing consistently at domestic level, had to miss out because we needed to have that balance.

“We have a lot of depth in our bowling. There are three pace bowlers and a seaming all-rounder. However, in our conditions spin will be the main strength and we are well covered in that area with Shakib Al Hasan, Abdur Razzak and Sohag Gazi.

“I also believe this is an excellent fielding side and that was evident in the recent Twenty20 series against Sri Lanka.”

Bangladesh World T20 Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza, Farhad Reza, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain

Leave a Reply