Afghanistan to play in Asia Cup

Image courtesy of:

This will be Afghanistan’s maiden Asia Cup

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) have announced that Afghanistan will become the fifth team to play in this year’s Asia Cup, alongside Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

The other big announcement from the ACC’s meeting in Colombo was that Bangladesh will still host the tournament, despite the ongoing political violence in the country.

“As of now, the decision has been made that Bangladesh will retain hosting rights of the Asia Cup,” Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) acting CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury said. “We have given a very good presentation to the ACC board members, and they have been convinced that we can host the tournament. Afghanistan has also been added to the tournament, making it a five-team event and the number of matches has gone up to eleven.”

Leave a Reply