Australia recall Warner and Pattinson for ODI series against England

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Pattinson has not played an ODI since September 2012

Australia have recalled flamboyant opening batsman David Warner and pace bowler James Pattinson for the upcoming ODI series against England, which gets underway on January 12.

Michael Clarke will return as captain after missing Australia’s limited overs tour of India with a back injury.

Shaun Marsh is also set to make his comeback after missing the same tour with a hamstring injury.

Pattinson has not played an ODI since September 2012, while Warner has not played an ODI since June this year.

“We believe this is a well-balanced squad that can build on the promising form displayed in our most recent limited overs series against England and India,” national selector John Inverarity said. “David Warner has won back his place in the Australia ODI squad with his outstanding recent form, not least in the domestic Ryobi Cup competition that was held in September and October in Sydney.

“Michael Clarke, Shaun Marsh and James Pattinson have been included after being unavailable through injury for the series against India in October. Phillip Hughes, Adam Voges, Moises Henriques and Callum Ferguson are unlucky to lose their places from the India ODI squad as they have all been in good form.

“Adam Voges is particularly unlucky as his ODI performances over the past year have been very good. There are three outstanding players in Clarke, Warner and Marsh coming back and we believe their inclusion provides the squad with several batting options.

“Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh are exciting prospects at the top of the order with the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup only 14 months away. Michael Clarke and Darren Lehmann will be looking for consistent performances from these players and the other batsmen who have the potential to impose themselves strongly on matches.

“James Pattinson has worked hard to get back to full fitness and will be looking to regain his best form. His performances will provide a guide to the National Selection Panel when it selects the team for the Test tour to South Africa in February and March.”

Australia ODI squad David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Shaun Marsh, Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey (vice-capt), Brad Haddin (wk), Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Pattinson, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty.

Leave a Reply