Root replaces Morgan on central contract list

Image courtesy of: The Mirror

Root took over Morgan’s spot on the central contracts list

England batsman Joe Root has replaced Eoin Morgan on the England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) central contract list.

The list of contracted players will last till 2019, but it is understood that all player contracts last for 12 months.

According to reports, the contract deals are now worth more compared to last year after the Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA) stated that the national team were “substantially underpaid” in comparison to their Australian counterparts.

“I am pleased that we have secured a fair and appropriate long term agreement, and have done so via amicable and constructive dialogue,” PCA chief executive Angus Porter said.

One big change in the contract is the fact that all of England’s players will be given the opportunity to participate in the Indian Premier League (IPL) after the ECB pushed all home series back from May to June.

Morgan’s contract snubbing comes as no surprise, especially since he has not been able to register a first-class half-century in over a year.

This was national selector Geoff Miller’s last contract selection before he steps down and hands his duties over to James Whitaker.

“Contracts are on-going recognition for those players who have regularly been selected for England and have performed consistently, as well as those players we feel are likely to play an important role for England over the next year,” Miller said. “Congratulations to Joe Root who is the one addition to the list of players awarded a central contract and this reflects the important role Joe has played for England since making his international debut last year and will I’m sure continue to play across all formats.”

Speaking about the new central contracts, Hugh Morris, who recently stepped down as the ECB’s managing director, said: “We are delighted to have concluded a six-year deal and to have all contractual issues resolved in advance of what we all hope to be another successful Ashes tour. We thank the PCA, Team England Player Partnership and the ECB Board for reaching this agreement which now allows the players to focus solely on cricket, not just during this tour, but for a considerable period beyond.”

Central contracts List: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott

Leave a Reply