Rangana Herath and Kumar Sangakkara bag top honours in SLC award ceremony

Image courtesy of: Dailymirror.lk

Herath was named Cricketer of the Year for the first time in his career

Sri Lanka spinner Rangana Herath and wicketkeeper-batsman Kumar Sangakkara both bagged top honours at the recent Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) award ceremony in Battaramulla.

Herath edged out Sangakkara to pick up the Cricketer of the Year award, while Sangakkara settled for the Best Test Batsman award.

Herath also snapped up the Best Test Bowler award as he took 46 Test wickets at an impressive average of 22.13 during the period under consideration.

Opening batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan was named the Best ODI Batsman, while pace demon Lasith Malinga was honoured as the Best ODI Bowler.

ODI captain Angelo Mathews was given the nod for ODI All-rounder of the Year and Dinesh Chandimal picked up the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row.

Leave a Reply