Big names expected to headline World Masters Of Cricket Tournament

Image courtesy of: SuperSport

The Kensington Oval will play host to the inaugural Twenty20 Clobi World Masters Of Cricket Tournament

Some of cricket’s biggest names are expected to participate in the inaugural Twenty20 Clobi World Masters Of Cricket Tournament which will be held in Barbados from November 1 to 10.

According to the organisers, this year’s tournament will feature teams from India, Pakistan, the West Indies and England.

“It is going to be something different and cricket fans from around the globe will get a chance to see former greats resume rivalries in the Twenty20 format,” a local organiser told PTI.

The local organiser stated that players from all four countries have been contacted and that the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has already received a green light for the tournament to go ahead.

“We are close to finalising deals with cricket legends like Inzamam-ul-Haq, Brian Lara, Rahul Dravid, Shoaib Akhtar, Courtney Walsh, Graeme Hick and others,” the organiser said.

Players taking part in the tournament have to be 35 years or older and must have represented their respective countries in either Tests or ODIs.

“We plan to make this a permanent event if our first attempt is a success,” the organiser said. “We are hopeful it will be successful after seeing the response the Caribbean Premier League got recently.”

Legendary Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq has been given the honour of putting the Pakistan team together and it is likely to feature Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Yousuf, Saqlain Mushtaq, Mushtaq Ahmed, Asif Mujtaba, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Rashid Latif, Shabbir Ahmed, Asim Kamal, Yasir Hameed, Arshad Khan, Moin Khan, Waqar Younis, Saeed Anwar and Azhar Mahmood.

The West Indies squad is likely to include Brian Lara, Carl Hooper, Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Floyd Reifer, Vasbert Drakes, Courtney Browne, Collis King, Ezra Moseley, Stuart Williams and Pedro Collins.

India is likely to represented by Rahul Dravid, Robin Singh, Rahul Sanghvi, Amay Khurasiya, Pravin Amre, Narendra Hirwani, Harvinder Singh, Vijay Dahiya, Iqbal Siddiqui, Abey Kuruvilla, Gagan Khoda and Sadagoppan Ramesh.

Meanwhile, England are expected to have Paul Collingwood, Graeme Hick, Paul Nixon, Gladstone Small, Neil Fairbrother, Phil Defreitas, Devon Malcolm, Dean Headley, John Emburery, Glen Chapple, Matthew Maynard and Chris Schofield.

Leave a Reply