Caribbean Premier League 17th match: Guyana emerge victorious in tense battle with Jamaica

Image courtesy of: Guyana Times

Barnwell’s two wickets in the final over sealed the deal for Guyana

The Guyana Amazon Warriors sneaked past the Jamaica Tallawahs by five runs in a tense battle thanks to a brilliant batting performance from New Zealand duo Martin Guptill and James Franklin.

Jamaica skipper Chris Gayle won the toss and chose to bowl first.

Gayle’s would have been considering whether he made the right decision after Guyana’s opening pair of Lendl Simmons and Guptill put together a 68-run partnership.

The partnership was finally ended after Simmons was caught out for 30 off the bowling of Sri Lanka spinner Muttiah Muralitharan.

Guptill followed soon after he was given out lbw for 39 off 36 balls, which included five boundaries.

Franklin was the only other batsman to make a valuable contribution as he blitzed his way to 40 off 29 deliveries, which included one boundary and two sixes.

The Amazon Warriors eventually finished on 139 at the end of their 20 overs.

South Africa pace bowler Vernon Philander took two wickets for Jamaica, while Muralitharan and Gayle snapped up one wicket apiece.

With target of 140 standing between them and a win, the Tallawahs got off to a rocky start as opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad was given out lbw off the bowling of Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez.

Chadwick Walton and Gayle stabilised the innings with a 46-run partnership at an impressive run rate of 7.88 before Walton was dismissed for 36 off 20 balls, which included one boundary and four sixes.

Walton’s dismissal caused Jamaica’s middle order to collapse and they were left struggling at 116/5 in the 18th over.

Despite Gayle’s sensible knock of 43 off 46 deliveries, which included three boundaries and two sixes, the Tallawahs were unable to secure the win as Christopher Barnwell delivered the knockout punch by taking two wickets in the final over.

Barnwell and Krishmar Santokie both picked up two wickets apiece, while Hafeez, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul and Steven Jacobs all chipped in with one wicket each.

Leave a Reply