Caribbean Premier League 7th match: St Lucia ease to five-wicket win behind Misbah-ul-Haq’s 49

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Ul-Haq and Sammy guided St Lucia to their first CPL win

Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq smashed an impressive 49 not out to help the St Lucia Zouks get their first win in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) as they eased past the Guyana Amazon Warriors by a comfortable margin of five wickets.

St Lucia captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Sammy’s decision looked to pay off early on as New Zealand opening batsman Martin Guptill was cleaned bowled after only scoring 12 runs and Pakistan all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez followed him back to the pavilion soon after.

West Indies batsman Lendl Simmons put up a good fight as he scored 38 runs off 42 balls, which included five boundaries, before he too was removed.

Simmons’ dismissal sparked the collapse of Guyana’s middle order and if it hadn’t been for Christopher Barnwell’s 29 off 14 deliveries, which included two boundaries and two sixes, the Amazon Warriors wouldn’t have had any chance of reaching 126 off their 20 overs.

Shane Shillingford was the pick of St Lucia’s bowlers with three wickets, while Garey Mathurin and Tino Best both snapped up one wicket apiece.

Chasing a relatively simple target of 127 to win, the Zouks found themselves in trouble early as their top three batsmen were dismissed with only 42 runs on the board.

However, Devon Smith and ul-Haq brought St Lucia back into the game with a brilliant 46-run partnership at a run rate of 6.90 before Smith got himself run out for 24.

Lightning struck twice for the Zouks as South African all-rounder Albie Morkel was run out without facing a single ball.

But, it was all St Lucia from that point on as Sammy and ul-Haq put together a 41-run partnership at a run rate of 12.30 to hand the Zouks their first victory of the tournament.

Ul-Haq finished unbeaten on 49 off 33 balls, which included four maximums, while Sammy remained undefeated on 21 off nine deliveries, which included two boundaries and one six.

Guyana’s spin trio of Veerasammy Permaul, Sunil Narine and Narsingh Deonarine all picked up one wicket each.

Leave a Reply