Denesh Ramdin suspended for two ODIs following catch controversy

Image courtesy of: London Evening Standard

Ramdin will miss the West Indies’ clash with India and South Africa

West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been fined 100 per cent of his match fee and banned for two ODIs after the International Cricket Council (ICC) reviewed the catch controversy involving him and Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq.

Ramdin decided not to appeal against the verdict and a West Indies team spokesperson told ESPNcricinfo that Ramdin will miss the West Indies’ clash against India and South Africa.

Ramdin was charged¬†under article 2.2.11 of the ICC Code of Conduct, which refers to¬†“conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game”

“This is regarded as a serious offence as it is the responsibility of all players to act in the spirit of the game,” ICC match referee Chris Broad said. “I hope Mr Ramdin has learnt his lesson from this incident and that we will not see such behaviour by him or any player in the future.”

The incident took place during the ninth over of the second Champions Trophy match at The Oval when Ramdin claimed to have taken a catch cleanly which ul-Haq had got an inside edge on.

However, upon further review, it was given not out as there was credible evidence to suggest that Ramdin had in fact not taken the catch cleanly.

Ul-Haq, who was on zero when the catch was taken, proceeded on to make an unbeaten 96, but his side still ended up losing the match by two wickets.

After the match, ul-Haq had expressed his frustration towards Ramdin and stated that his actions were not in the “spirit of the game”.

“What can I say about that?” ul-Haq said. “I think he should have told them what happened, but I don’t know what he was thinking at that time. I would not be very happy if my wicketkeeper did that. If we don’t know anything, then it’s fine, but if you know clearly that it’s not a catch, you should not claim that because it’s not in the spirit of the game.”

However, West Indies skipper Dwayne Bravo had defended Ramdin at the post-game press conference.

“Unfortunately, he did not catch it,” Bravo said. “He’s a very honest player, and as I said, history shows if you check the records that we don’t have any stigma or negatives around us as a team. We have been true in our cricket careers and history has shown that we play the game in true spirit of the way it should be played. I don’t think we did something like this deliberately.”

Leave a Reply