A BATTING WITH BIMAL BREAKING REPORT: Mahendra Singh Dhoni named captain of ICC’s ODI Team of the Year

Dhoni was chosen to be the leader of the ICC ODI Team of the Year

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni had the privilege of being named the captain of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) ODI Team of the Year for 2011 to 2012.

This is now the fifth year in a row that Dhoni has been included in the team.

Dhoni’s Indian team-mates, Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir also feature in the team, while England captain Alastair Cook, Sri Lanka wicketkeeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara and Australia captain Michael Clarke make up the rest of the batting lineup in the all-star team.

The pace bowling attack is led by Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga, while South Africa’s Morne Morkel and England’s Steven Finn also made the cut.

Pakistan’s Saeed Ajmal will lead the spin attack, along with his team-mate Shahid Afridi, who occupied the all-rounder spot on the team, and Australia’s Shane Watson was named as the 12th man.

This is the first time that Ajmal, Kohli and Finn have been included in the ODI squad.

For Cook, Sangakkara, Clarke and Ajmal, getting into the ODI team was a double bonus since they were also included in the ICC Test Team of the Year for 2011 to 2012.

Several South African batsman, notably Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers, who have been in outstanding for past year, failed to make the squad due to the small amount of ODIs South Africa played between August 4, 2011 and August 6, 2012, which was the qualifying period for the team.

The team was announced on the eve of the ICC’s annual awards night, which was held in Colombo on September 15.

The ODI and Test team were chosen by a panel of former cricketers, which consisted of: West Indies batsmen Clive Lloyd and Carl Hooper, Sri Lanka opener Marvan Attapatu, Australia all-rounder Tom Moody and England Women’s captain Clare Connor.

Lloyd, who was the chairman of the panel, said: “This team, along with the Test Team of the Year was extremely difficult to decide upon. We feel the side has strength to bat well down the order, while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.”

ICC chief executive Dave Richardson also admitted that this was one of the strongest ICC ODI sides in a long time.

“I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI Team of the Year selections ever in the awards history,” Richardson said.

Leave a Reply