India vs Bangladesh 1st T20: Rahim steals the spotlight as Bangladesh go 1-0 up

Mushfiqur Rahim 60 not out India Bangladesh 1st T20 Delhi cricket

Mushfiqur Rahim hammered eight boundaries and a six during his game-winning knock of 60

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Mushfiqur Rahim smashed an unbeaten 60 to lead Bangladesh to a seven-wicket win over India in the first Twenty20 International in Delhi.

Being put in to bat first, India lost stand-in captain Rohit Sharma on the sixth ball of the match as he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Shafiul Islam for nine runs.

Lokesh Rahul didn’t fare much better as he was caught by Bangladesh skipper Mahmudullah at short cover off the bowling of Aminul Islam for 15.

Shreyas Iyer struck a quickfire 22 before he was caught by debutant Mohammad Naim at long-off off the bowling of Aminul.

Shikhar Dhawan, who opened the batting with Rohit, scored a 42-ball 41, which included three boundaries and a six, before he was run out by Mahmudullah.

Debutant Shivam Dube fell shortly after, but with Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya and Washington Sundar making 27, 15 not out and an unbeaten 14 respectively, India finished on 148/6.

Shafiul and Aminul picked up two wickets apiece, while Afif Hossain chipped in with one.

Chasing 149 to win, Bangladesh lost Liton Das on the fifth ball of their innings as he was caught by Rahul at cover point off the bowling of Deepak Chahar for seven runs.

Naim and Soumya Sarkar made up for the loss of Liton with a 46-run partnership before Naim was caught by Dhawan at long-on off the bowling of Yuzvendra Chahal for 26.

Sarkar and Rahim added 60 runs to the score before Sarkar was clean bowled by Khaleel Ahmed for 39.

Rahim and Mahmdullah mopped up the remaining runs as Bangladesh reached their target with three balls to spare.

Rahim finished on 60, which came off 43 balls and included eight boundaries and a six, while Mahmudullah remained undefeated on 15, which came off seven deliveries and included a boundary and a six.

Chahar, Chahal and Khaleel claimed one wicket each.

Rahim was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply