Australia vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20: Warner, Smith power Australia to series win

David Warner 60 not out Australia Sri Lanka 2nd T20 Brisbane cricket

David Warner walloped nine boundaries during his unbeaten knock of 60

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

David Warner struck an unbeaten 60 and Steve Smith smashed 53 not out as Australia crushed Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the second Twenty20 International in Brisbane.

Australia’s victory gave them an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Opting to bat first, Sri Lanka got off to a poor start as opener Kusal Mendis was run out for one run on the 10th ball of the match.

Danushka Gunathilaka mustered 21 runs before he was clean bowled by Billy Stanlake.

Ashton Agar took out Avishka Fernando for 17, while Niroshan Dickwella was sent packing by Pat Cummins for five runs.

Kusal Perera scored a 19-ball 27 before he was cleaned up by Agar.

Once Kusal was gone, Sri Lanka continued to collapse as they lost wickets in a hurry.

In the end, they were skittled out for 117.

Stanlake, Cummins, Agar and Adam Zampa picked up two wickets apiece.

Chasing 118 to win, Australia lost captain Aaron Finch on the third ball as he was caught behind off the bowling of Sri Lanka skipper Lasith Malinga for a golden duck.

However, that was to be Sri Lanka’s only taste of success as Warner and Smith forged an unbeaten 117-run partnership, during which both of them brought up their fifties.

Warner finished on 60, which came off 41 balls and included nine boundaries, while Smith remained undefeated on 53, which came off 36 deliveries and included six boundaries.

Malinga was the only bowler to take a wicket.

Warner was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply