Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20: Oshada, Hasaranga complete 3-0 whitewash in Lahore

Oshada Fernando 78 not out Sri Lanka Pakistan 3rd T20 Lahore cricket

Oshada Fernando struck eight boundaries and three sixes during his unbeaten knock of 78

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Debutant Oshada Fernando hammered a career-best 78 not out and Wanindu Hasaranga took three wickets as Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 13 runs to complete a 3-0 series whitewash.

Opting to bat first, Sri Lanka lost opener Danushka Gunathilaka early on as he was clean bowled by Mohammad Amir for eight runs.

Sadeera Samarawickrama didn’t fare much better as he was given out lbw off the bowling of Imad Wasim for 12 runs.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa only made three runs before he was dismissed by Amir, while Angelo Perera was run out for 13.

With Sri Lanka reeling at 58/4, Oshada and stand-in captain Dasun Shanaka came to the rescue with a 76-run partnership, during which Fernando brought up his fifty, before Shanaka was removed by Wahab Riaz for 12 runs.

Lahiru Madushanka and Hasaranga fell shortly after, but thanks to Oshada’s unbeaten 78, which came off 48 balls and included eight boundaries and three sixes, Sri Lanka finished on 147/7.

Amir was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Imad and Wahab chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 148 to win, Pakistan got off to the worst possible start as Fakhar Zaman was clean bowled by Kasun Rajitha on the first ball of the innings.

Haris Sohail and Babar Azam made up for the loss of Zaman with a 76-run stand before Azam was caught behind off the bowling of Lahiru Kumara for 27.

Haris went on to score a 50-ball 52, which included four boundaries and a six, before he was stumped by Samarawickrama off the bowling of Hasaranga.

Kumara took out Imad for three runs before Hasaranga sent Asif Ali and captain Sarfaraz Ahmed packing in the same over.

Despite Iftikhar Ahmed and Wahab scoring an unbeaten 17 and 12 not out respectively, Pakistan still fell short of their target as they finished on 134/6.

Hasaranga was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Kumara took two and Rajitha claimed one.

Hasaranga was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply