West Indies vs India 2nd T20: Rohit stars as India claim unassailable 2-0 series lead

Rohit Sharma 67 West Indies India 2nd T20 Lauderhill cricket

Rohit Sharma hammered six boundaries and three sixes during his knock of 67

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

India opener Rohit Sharma struck a 51-ball 67 to lead his side to a 22-run win over the West Indies via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method in Lauderhill.

Opting to bat first, India got off to a fantastic start as Rohit and Shikhar Dhawan amassed a 67-run partnership before Dhawan was clean bowled by Keemo Paul for 23.

Rohit and India captain Virat Kohli added 48 runs to the score, during which Rohit surpassed his fifty, before he was removed by Oshane Thomas for a 51-ball 67, which included six boundaries and three sixes.

Thomas then took out Rishabh Pant, while Kohli ended up making 28 before he was cleaned up by Sheldon Cottrell.

Manish Pandey fell shortly after as he was caught behind off the bowling of Cottrell for six runs.

With Krunal Pandya smashing a quickfire 20 not out, India finished on 167/5 off their 20 overs.

Cottrell and Thomas picked up two wickets apiece, while Paul chipped in with one.

Chasing 168 to win, the West Indies lost opener Evin Lewis early on as he was caught and bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar for a duck.

Sunil Narine, who opened the batting with Lewis, only scored four runs before he was clean bowled by Washington Sundar.

Rovman Powell and Nicholas Pooran stabilised the innings with a 76-run partnership, during which Powell brought up his half-century, before Pooran was dismissed by Pandya for 19.

Pandya struck again three balls later as he trapped Powell lbw for a career-best 54, which came off 34 balls and included six boundaries and three sixes.

Shortly after Powell’s dismissal, the rain came and since it refused to relent, India were declared the winners as the DLS par score was 121 after 15.3 overs, but the West Indies were on 98/4.

Pandya was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Sundar and Kumar claimed one wicket each.

Pandya was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply