Uncapped Abu Jayed included in Bangladesh’s World Cup squad

Uncapped Abu Jayed included in Bangladesh's World Cup squad cricket

Abu Jayed has yet to make his ODI debut

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Bangladesh have included uncapped pace bowler Abu Jayed in their squad for the World Cup, which begins in England and Wales next month.

Jayed has represented Bangladesh in five Tests and three Twenty20 Internationals to date, but has yet to make his ODI debut.

It is understood that the 25-year-old impressed the selectors with his ability to swing the ball during the Test series against New Zealand in February to March.

During that three-Test series, Jayed took three wickets in two Tests at an average of 65.66.

Other than Jayed, all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain was recalled to the side for the quadrennial tournament.

Mosaddek last played for Bangladesh at the Asia Cup last September, where he scored 39 runs in three matches at an average of 19.50 and took one wicket at an average of 26.

Both Jayed and Mosaddek were also included due to their form in the ongoing Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, which is a domestic one-day competition.

Jayed has taken 12 wickets in nine matches for Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club at an average of 33.33, while Mosaddek has amassed 428 runs in 12 games for Abahani Limited, which includes a century and four fifties, at an average of 47.55.

Mosaddek will also be a potential replacement for Mahmudullah, who is currently recovering from a right shoulder injury.

Other than Jayed and Mosaddek’s inclusions, there were no other major surprises.

All teams are permitted to make changes to their World Cup squads until May 23 without requiring permission from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Bangladesh will kick off their World Cup campaign against South Africa at The Oval on June 2.

Bangladesh’s World Cup Squad:¬†Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Jayed, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain

Leave a Reply