Kohli wins top three ICC awards after outstanding 2018

Virat Kohli ICC Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year ICC awards cricket

Virat Kohli is the first player to be named ICC Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

India captain Virat Kohli made history after he was named the ICC Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year for his stellar performance throughout 2018.

Kohli etched his name into the record books as he became the first player to sweep all three major prizes the ICC gives out.

Kohli scored 1,322 runs in 13 Tests, which included five centuries, at an average of 55.08.

He also amassed 1,202 runs, which included six hundreds, in 14 ODIs at a jaw-dropping average of 133.55.

In addition to this, India are at the summit of the Test rankings and sit in second place on both the ODI and Twenty20 team rankings.

“It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing,” Kohli was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo. “Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.”

South Africa pace bowler Kagiso Rabada was the runner-up behind Kohli for the Cricketer of the Year prize, while Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan was behind the Indian captain for the ODI Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, India wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant was named the Emerging Cricketer of the Year for scoring 537 runs in eight Tests, while also taking 40 catches and stumping two batsmen.

Australia opener Aaron Finch claimed the award for the Twenty20 International knock of the year as he hammered a career-best 172 against Zimbabwe last July.

Finch’s innings is not only the highest score made in the shortest format, but he also surpassed his own record of 156, which came against England in August 2013.

“It was just one of those days that things seemed to go my way, so it was nice to break my own record and get a 172,” he said. “After I got a hundred and I started to middle consistently, that is when I knew it was going to be a big one. It all happened pretty quick.”

Elsewhere, Scotland batsman Calum MacLeod was bestowed with the Associate Cricketer of the Year prize, while Kumar Dharmasena was named Umpire of the Year.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson snapped up the Spirit of Cricket award, while India’s triumph in the Under-19 World Cup was voted as the Fans’ Moment of the Year.

Meanwhile, in addition to Kohli securing the top three awards, he was also named captain of the ICC’s Test and ODI teams.

Besides Kohli, India seamer Jasprit Bumrah is the only other player to feature in both squads.

ICC Test Team of the Year: Virat Kohli (capt), Tom Latham, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson, Henry Nicholls, Rishabh Pant (wk), Jason Holder, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Abbas

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ross Taylor, Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Mustafizur Rahman, Rashid Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Reply