BBL 2018/19 15th Match: Lynn hammers 84, but Heat come up short against the Sixers

Chris Lynn 84 Sydney Sixers Brisbane Heat Big Bash League BBL 15th Match cricket

Chris Lynn walloped an entertaining 84, but it wasn’t enough to lead the Brisbane Heat past the Sydney Sixers

Image courtesy of: Zimbio

Brisbane Heat captain Chris Lynn provided his own fireworks on New Year’s Day as he smashed a 55-ball 84, but his side ended up losing to the Sydney Sixers by five wickets.

Being put in to bat first, the Heat got off to a quick start before opener Sam Heazlett was clean bowled by Ben Dwarshuis for two runs.

Heazlett’s opening partner Max Bryant did a lot of the damage early on and proceeded to score an 18-ball 34 before he was dismissed by Tom Curran.

Brendon McCullum, Joe Burns and Ben Cutting all fell in quick succession before Lynn and Jimmy Peirson came to the rescue with a 72-run partnership.

Lynn ended up making 84, which came off 55 balls and included three boundaries and five sixes, before he was trapped lbw off the bowling of Curran.

Peirson went on to score 23 as the Heat finished on 164/7.

Curran was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets, while Dwarshuis, Sean Abbott, Joe Denly and Steve O’Keefe chipped in with one wicket apiece.

Chasing 165 to win, the Sixers lost Denly early on as he was caught behind off the bowling of Josh Lalor for 11.

Justin Avendano managed to score a 24-ball 30 before he was run out by Cutting.

Daniel Hughes was on his way back to the pavilion shortly after as he was stumped by Peirson off the bowling of Mitchell Swepson for two runs.

Sixers skipper Moises Henriques and Jordan Silk steadied things with a 40-run partnership before Henriques was removed by Cutting for a 37-ball 57, which included five boundaries and two sixes.

Silk went on to score 46, which came off 25 deliveries and included three boundaries and two sixes, before he was caught behind off the bowling of Lalor.

Even though the Sixers lost Henriques and Silk, they ended up reaching their target with three balls to spare.

Lalor was the most successful bowler with two wickets, while Cutting and Swepson claimed one wicket each.

Lynn was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply