Pakistan vs New Zealand 1st Test Day 2: Match evenly poised despite Azam’s 62

Babar Azam 62 Pakistan New Zealand 1st Test Day 2 Abu Dhabi cricket

Babar Azam raises his bat after scoring his eighth Test fifty

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Neither Pakistan nor New Zealand were able to take charge on the second day in Abu Dhabi, even though Babar Azam scored an entertaining 62.

Starting off the day on 59/2, Azhar Ali and Haris Sohail converted their 32-run partnership into a 64-run stand before Sohail was caught by Tom Latham at short midwicket off the bowling of Ish Sodhi for 38.

Azhar was on his way back to the pavilion the very next over as he was caught behind off the bowling of Trent Boult for 22.

Babar Azam and Asad Shafiq stabilised the innings with an 83-run partnership before Shafiq was clean bowled by Boult for 43.

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed fell shortly after for two runs, while Bilal Asif made 11 before he was stumped by BJ Watling off the bowling of debutant Ajaz Patel.

Yasir Shah and Hasan Ali did not make major contributions as they were dismissed for nine and four runs respectively.

Pakistan ended up being bowled out for 227, which gave them a 74-run lead when Azam was caught behind off the bowling of Boult for 62, which came off 109 balls and included five boundaries.

Boult was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets, while Patel and Colin de Grandhomme snapped up two wickets apiece. As for Sodhi and Neil Wagner, they chipped in with one wicket each.

Trailing by 74 runs, New Zealand lost Latham on the seventh ball of their second innings as he was clean bowled by Hasan for a golden duck.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and Jeet Raval made up for the loss of Latham with an unbeaten 56-run partnership before bad light brought play to an end for the day.

Williamson finished on 27, which came off 62 balls and included two boundaries, while Raval also struck two boundaries during his 73-ball 26.

Hasan was the only bowler to take a wicket.

New Zealand ended day two on 56/1 and will continue batting on Sunday at 10:00 local time or 06:00 GMT.

Leave a Reply