Pakistan vs Australia 1st T20: Azam, Wasim crush lacklustre Australia

Babar Azam 68 not out Pakistan Australia 1st T20 Abu Dhabi cricket

Babar Azam scored his sixth fifty in Twenty20 Internationals

Image courtesy of: ESPNcricinfo

Babar Azam struck an unbeaten 68 and Imad Wasim took three wickets as Pakistan flattened Australia by 66 runs in the first Twenty20 International in Abu Dhabi.

Being put in to bat first, Pakistan got off to a brisk start before opener Fakhar Zaman was caught by Nathan Coulter-Nile at short cover off the bowling of Billy Stanlake for 14.

Azam and Mohammad Hafeez made up for the loss of Zaman with a 73-run partnership before Hafeez was caught by Ben McDermott at long-on off the bowling of D’Arcy Short for 39.

Pakistan completely collapsed once Hafeez was gone as they went from 105/2 to 133/8.

However, Azam continued to fight throughout the collapse and ended up leading his side to 155/8 with his unbeaten knock of 68, which came off 55 balls and included five boundaries and a six.

Stanlake and Andrew Tye picked up three wickets apiece, while Short and Adam Zampa chipped in with one wicket each.

Chasing 156 to win, Australia made a dismal start to their innings as captain Aaron Finch was clean bowled by Wasim for a duck on the third ball of the innings.

Short suffered the same fate three balls later and had to trudge back to the pavilion after scoring just four runs.

Faheem Ashraf then cleaned up Glenn Maxwell for two runs before McDermott was run out by Zaman two balls later.

Alex Carey was caught behind off the bowling of Wasim for one, while Chris Lynn was clean bowled by Faheem for 14.

With Australia reeling at 22/6, Ashton Agar and Coulter-Nile added 38 runs to the score before Agar was caught behind off the bowling of Hasan Ali for 19.

Zampa and Tye fell shortly after, and Australia were eventually bowled out for 89 when Coulter-Nile was cleaned up by Shadab Khan for 34.

Wasim was the most successful bowler with three wickets, while Faheem and Shaheen Shah Afridi snapped up two wickets apiece. As for Hasan and Shadab, they claimed one wicket each.

Wasim was named Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply